The broad and balanced curriculum provides the essential skills of literacy, numeracy and technology. Years 7 to 9 build on students’ strengths and interests to prepare them for GCSE work in Years 10 and 11. All students study English, mathematics, science and religious education. The exciting range of other GCSE subjects includes Latin and the separate sciences of biology, chemistry and physics – taught in our cutting edge science block. Additional support is always available for whoever might need it, including gifted and talented students.
Art, music and drama also enjoy facilities of the highest calibre, providing students with the opportunity to nurture talents, express themselves artistically and grow in confidence.
Sport is an important part of life at The Peterborough School and every pupil is encouraged to take part in a wide range of activities. Older students participate in golf, ice skating and rowing. The School’s reputation in rowing is enviable, with several students crowned national champions.
Pupils at The Peterborough School are embarking on a lifetime of learning. They are encouraged to take responsibility for their own learning and personal development through independent project work. Unusual and diverse topics are explored using the School’s extensive research resources.
Pupils also learn about themselves as they acquire the experience and confidence to make decisions and tackle successfully the moral, social and cultural issues that are part of growing up.
The School was founded in 1895 and was originally a girls’ school situated in Park Road in Peterborough. It moved to spacious new premises with ample grounds at Westwood House, Thorpe Road in 1936. In 1968, the School was incorporated into the Woodard Corporation.
1937 to 2000
In the August of 1937, a new Head, Miss Helen Mattock (later Mrs Belgion) was appointed, with only 7 pupils in the school. Her leadership must have been dynamic because by the end of 1937, there were 33 pupils. In September 1938, there were 64 pupils and Mrs Belgion was determined that the School would continue to grow and by 1949 there were 200 pupils, mostly day girls but with some weekly and termly boarders.
The School has seen many changes since its Victorian beginnings with several major developments and a constant programme of modernization and improvement. But the historic core of Westwood House remains and the newer facilities blend comfortably into the charming grounds. Former pupils, known as Westwoodians, will be pleased to learn that the school still aims to “Be valiant” and provides “education with character”.